top of page

Happy dances work!

Thank you everyone who took a minute to say a little prayer and do a little dance for me. Not only does the image of my friends and family pulling some funky dance moves fill me with a warm fuzzy joy, but it worked! My next appointment at the clinic showed that the cyst had gone and I was ready to go! So I've been taking my hormone injections for a week now and my ovaries are looking marvellous. 

The first scan on Monday showed I have a total of 29 follicles growing, and the nurse said she couldn't have asked for a better first scan. Well done body! 

The next scan on Wednesday showed they were still going strong, but my blood test showed my oestrogen levels were slightly too high so they reduced my hormone dosage. 

Yesterday's scan showed I had lots of big fat follicles, which hopefully means lots of big fat eggs ripe for collection. Again, my blood test showed I needed to reduce my dosage further. Which isn't a problem, but it's frustrating to know my body now seems to be working well in the area that has failed me over the last year and a half. But positive that something is going right at least. Don't moan Kate, you'll jinx it!

So I'm now taking more than half the hormone dose I started with, and have also started taking another hormone that will stop the eggs being released (which is the same hormone I was taking to get my period started. Mind blown). At the moment I'm on track for a cracking (pun totally intended) egg collection on Wednesday or Friday and those beauties will go straight on ice, ready for the future. 

I have a telephone appointment with my super lovely Macmillan nurse on Monday to discuss the results of this week's MRI (the one where they couldn't get the canula in and after 3 attempts to 'swim' the needle into my 'very deep veins', my arms are a lovely mix of black, blue and purple). Fingers crossed everything is the same as my PET scan 6 or 7 weeks ago. 

Things are going a little too well at the moment so I'm fully prepared for them to find something naughty that throws everything off. But even if they're worried about further Bob-age, surely they won't be able to do anything next week anyway, so the egg hunt can continue as planned. Never say never....

On the whole this week has been the best in a long time. Lots of positive health news (grow eggies grow!) spending a lovely afternoon with one of my besties and my favourite little man, the other bestie asked me to be her maid of honour (excellent motivation to shift this weight!), the fluffy boy has been an absolute gem at night and let me sleep (well, mostly), the less fluffy boy is moving in this weekend and was clever enough to get himself a new job (*proud face*) and to top it all off....the nurse told me I shouldn't do any high impact exercise. Wahooo! Sitting on my arse it is!

Keep dancing please lovely people. We're not out of the woods just yet, and experience has taught me not to get too comfortable. Good things don't happen to me for too long, but I'm enjoying the ride while it lasts.


Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page