top of page

🎶 This is a shout out to my eggs 🎶

This morning I went in for my egg collection. These juicy little ovaries, which were so nearly binned a few weeks ago, produced an amazing 24 eggs. Considering the average is 8, I am completely in love with my body for finally excelling! 

So those bad boys will be frozen this afternoon and stored safely for up to 10 years. 1 job ticked off the list ✅

I also spoke to my Macmillan nurse yesterday, and last week's MRI scan came back completely normal. 2 out of 2, well done body ✅

So now the letters are arriving thick and fast for radiotherapy planning scans and chemo start dates and I could not be more happy about it all. Could I possibly be the only person ever to feel excited about my upcoming treatment? I still can't believe everything is going so well and the outlook is so positive. Where's the downside? Well, apart from the impending weeks of sickness, loss of fertility and general shittiness of being diagnosed with cancer twice in 18 months. But otherwise!

I am now trying to decide whether or not to send an email to my clinical nurse at the Royal Marsden to tell her about today's result. Part of me wants to yell at her and tell her how bloody awful their decision had been, and thank God my surgeon had decided not to go ahead with removing my ovaries and tubes. But I'm obviously far too polite to actually do that.

But I do think it's important they know that egg preservation was an option, when they were so quick and so adamant about it being a no. And that maybe if another patient is in the same boat, with no signs whatsoever of any remaining cancer, this could save them the stress and upset that I went through. 

I still don't understand why they were so definite about their decision, when everything they had done so far had been to try and preserve my fertility. I wonder if they even spoke to anyone from a fertility clinic, who could have told them that my type of cancer can't be passed on through my eggs, and that the small risk of disturbing and dispersing any hidden cancer cells during the procedure wasn't really an issue because the immediate radiotherapy would zap them anyway. 

I don't think I really want to know the answer, and in the grand scheme of things it doesn't really matter. Because it all worked out in the end. Like things always do.

So now I can look forward to my upcoming mini break (and we bloody deserve it!) before cracking on with the hard stuff. But first, a well earned nap 😴


Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page